Hi - I'm new to Affinity (from Illustrator and Photoshop) but I'm having trouble finding info on how to do the basics - old habits from the CS software I guess ... That's not true, MEB, as the text box could have basic padding and alignment attributes. textRectRef = doc.pathItems.rectangle(y- t_v_pad,x+ t_h_pad, w-(0.95*t_h_pad),h-(1*t_v_pad)); // padding between ellipse and text box. Window->Styles->Object Styles. Window->Styles->Object Styles. Make sure the cursor line is flashing inside the box before pasting your text into it. In the example below, I have some text with a larger inline image. Is there something similar to bbox that can be used? Setup in a nutshell: there's an outergrid of 5 objects, with each having several subplots that make up an inner grid. Under \"Internal Margin\" you can set the left, right, top and bottom margins as desired.) Click the "Typography" drop-down box. I have found a number of solutions to adding color to a text box in earlier versions of Illustrator, but they don't seem to work in the current version. The text will be touching the edges of the path, though, and one or the other will need to be sized. Window->Text Wrap. If you do, you will deselect the text box. Make sure the default Object Style is what you want (no text wrap, etc.) Illustrator Actions and Scripts on Envato Elements But converting text to outlines willy-nilly is frowned upon in general, because your text is no longer editable, and you loose "important" information. I also want to be able to change color of the border to identify different parts of the drawing. Word Spacing for Headline Type. Superscript, subscript, and padding (margins) for text boxes in Illustrator CS5 To change the empty space above, below, and to the sides of text, go to Type>Area Type Options... and change the Inset Spacing (in the Offset box): It's easy to add text to a circle in Illustrator—draw a circle, choose the Path Text Tool, click the circle, and type. it probably needs to scale t