Thanks for sharing your product tips too, I shall be trying some of these! Gel is clear and . ;-), Fabulous canvas and loved all the info around gesso and gel medium. In 1955, Liquitex, an acrylic paint company developed the first water-based acrylic gesso. Thank you for the tutorial. Perf matte white eyeshadow!! Wonderful canvas! Gesso changed in the 20th century. Speedball Matte Medium is used for extending Speedball Acrylic Paint and minimizing gloss. Most paints are naturally satin finish so try Basics Matte Medium or Matte Gel which will dull the shine. :), awesome tutorial and amazing piece of art! Gesso Vs. Matte Gel Medium: Now, please bear in mind that I am a fledgling mixed media artist and learning and exploring. So incredibly awesome!!! ... Xengraphicx.com – This is a recipe for clear gesso which is really great if you want to see what’s under the gesso. Of intermediate viscosity, product dries quickly, flexible and waterproof. Matte Medium can be used to maintain opacity and extend opaque colors to double amounts without changing the color. Carol x. This was way informative and sooooo helpful to someone hovering on the edge of that craft that is Mixed Media! Mix with color or use on its own. So I'm probably doing everything wrong. And one I'm very pleased with. They are equivalent to a colorless paint since they are made of an acrylic polymer without the pigment. Good quality base coat primer; one coat is usually all that is required. That money goes right back into creating content for you guys on my channel and supporting Lindsey Decor so I thank you!---Happy Strummin by Audionautix is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution license (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/...)Artist: http://audionautix.com/ This medium may be used as a top coat to create a "flat" finish. Liquitex Gloss, Matte, and Ultra Matte Mediums can be used as an extender and fixative for Liquitex Acrylic Paints, giving increased flow without affecting paint stability. Often